responsible goods

In being in the culture of the northwest, and especially with the emerging trend of local and organic foods, I guess I am jumping on the band wagon. I once used to consider imported things very nice. I might have considered an italian or french wine superior to one from california (and I do admit that after living in europe for a year, I am more impressed with california wine—granted, i might not have been able to spend the money to achieve the quality comprable to the california wines I rank as better). I find myself now buying into the progressive notion that local is better—better tasting, and better for the environment. the use of fossil fuels in transporting imports and foods (some yes imported, but some also produced upwards of 3000 miles away depending on where you live in the states) is an unnecessary strain on the environment, and the time it takes in transit is time lost for serving said goods fresh.

I just finished a fun read called “farewell my subaru” which was about a world-traveled journalist who decides he wants to live a simple life that is as sustainable as possible He moves to rural new mexico to see if he can do it just for a year. He does the whole gamut of predictable life changes one would assume when one jumps into this sort of venture: growing his own produce, getting rid of his unleaded-consuming car, in exchange for a diesel powered one that he converts to run on veggie oil (and apparently the man who invented the diesel engine did so for farmers who would be able to grow their own fuel) installing solar panels, a solar. shower, water pump, raises chickens and goats. etc… It’s an enjoyable read, it’s his story through the whole process. He talks about the importance of eating local for the environment.

I was sipping some washington wine and vodka last night with some friends, and was just thinking about how much I appreciated that stuff in this place. I certainly have had much better wine before, but honestly, this was perfect because the origins were so close to home. I think there is something really special about waiting for things, or enjoying things only when they are grown, produced and created within close proximity of where you are. A Chimay will taste far better in belgium where 1.) I can’t enjoy the craft and microbrews of seattle and 2.) it hasn’t been tossed around in a shipping cart for a week or so before it arrives on the shelf 3.) It also will be 1 euro instead of $12. Our culture teaches against that. I am also applying the same principle to seasonal foods. An apple will taste much better in the fall when I have waited 8 months to have one. Berries and chanterelle mushrooms are some other amazing fall boons up here in the PNW that will taste much better in season.

when you pay a price for something, you sacrifice something for it, it becomes much more valuable when it arrives in the time it is supposed to.

*currently reading “Green Gone Wrong” by Heather Rogers

*currently listening to Tiny Vipers

~ by dabhandeddrifter on February 4, 2011.

Leave a comment