snow, simple church and wedding music

It started snowing Sunday Night, and didnt stop until today. I love when it snows heavy, and when its fresh on the ground. Sometimes I miss the beauty of California when I was in Humboldt, or in the sierras, but I am thankful I can find beauty here, and be refreshed with the sense of purifying that comes with a fresh blanket of quiet still, white snow.

Last night was a great Night. Amanda and I got met with a decorator for the wedding. it turns out she is right on the same artistic page as us. We are just hoping she can pull something off with our minimal budget. After meeting with this woman we were hungry, and wanted some dinner. The great thing about being in an area of town that you arent normally in is that you can discover new cafes and coffee joints that you otherwise wouldnt know about. This is precisely what happened.

We found this little cafe called chocolata. in addition to wonderful chocolates they offered, they also had tastey sandwiches, and the real points they got from me was having chimay brew. Its not common anywhere in this city to find a cafe that carries any type of beer aside from a blonde, or if its an irish pub a guiness. But this place offered something extraordinary: the belgium Chimay that I had discovered at a favorite bar in LA not far from my house. The atmosphere at this place was great too, very warm, very welcoming, and we sat in front of a massive window where the snow was coming down and adding to the arctic city scape. It turned out to be one of those unplanned things that turns into a great memory. I love when that happens.

After leaving chocolata, we had to get to the otherside of the city to have a church meeting with two of our friends. It turned out to be a great meeting, with opportunity to pray, worship, reflect, and share our stories. This was a wonderful first meeting. Amanda seems sold on the idea of simple church, and for facilitating a  meeting like this feels like a piece of destiny coming into being. I am excited for what will happen with this.

I am also in the process of putting together a playlist for the cocktail party portion of Amanda and my reception. I have always dreamed of hosting a cocktail party with fancy artistic indie music playing in the background, and I guess now is the chance. While I know some of these artists are not quite fitting the “indie” appellation, inspite of may claims in support of this assessment. Some of them are on major labels, but I still think they will make great party music in the background.

here is a rough sketch of what i have so far:

1.) Delorean – Deli  2.) TV on the radio – crying 3.) Hot Chip – and i was a boy from school 4.) Paul Simon – Graceland 5.) Faunts – Feel Love Thinking Of 6.) The National – Fake Empire 7.) Radiohead – Sit Down, Stand up (etc…) 8.) Yo La Tengo – avalon or someone very similar 9.) The decemberists – The crane wife 3 10.) Paper Route – Enemy Among Us 11.) The Beatles – hey jude 12.) The shins – Split Needles 13.) Iron and wine – Faded from the winter 14.) The national – Guest Room 15.) Elton John – Tiny Dancer 16.) Tv on the radio – DLZ 17.) Deathcab for Cutie – Coney Island 18.) Radiohead – weird fishes/arpeggi 19.) Iron and wine – Upward over the mountain 20.) Paul simon – the boy in the bubble  21.) The postal Service – Recycled Air 22.) Memory Tapes – Stop Talking 23.) MGMT – Electric Feel 24.) Elton John – Rocket Man 25.) Faunts – I think I’ll Start a fire 26.) Radiohead – Go to sleep 27.) Paul Simon – Diamonds on the soles of her shoes 28.) Hot chip – Ready For the floor 29.) The Police – Roxanne 30.) Port O’brien – Fisherman’s Son 31.) Damien Rice – Cannonball 32.) The decemberists – summersong 33.) Beach House – Tokyo Witch

its not final yet, this is just a rough sketch. Hopefully perkins will be delighted with this.

looking outside the window from chocolata

Perkins and my remaining chimay rogue

~ by dabhandeddrifter on January 21, 2010.

Leave a comment