new years

2007 to 2008 marked one of the worst new years I can recall. January 2nd I was driving to work listening to “the new year” by death cab for cutie. I particularly was identifying exceptionally well with Ben Gibbards lyrics to this one. Tears of frustration filled my eyes as I came down sepulveda blvd near the getty museum at 8:45am. I was crying out to God for a sense of purpose, for more direction, and for redemption from circumstances at work. On a side note, this was my prayer on my way to work for the previous few months. With the start of a new year, I was really upset that things weren’t different. I think God heard my prayer. 2008 turned out to be one of the best years of my life. It started at the end of January when I was let go from that job at the advertising agency. Bad turned to good, as I fulfilled some dreams in 2008. I visited San Francisco, I hiked through the redwoods, I hiked Yosemite Falls in Yosemite NP, I camped in Santa Cruz, I worked and traveled with a recording artist. I saw the Northwest. And I met my future Spouse. 2008 Closed almost as 2007 closed, with little hope, and not seeing the future that I wanted. I was jobless again, plans were falling through, and I had no idea what was to come.

While 2009, hasnt been as awesome in retrospect as 2008, It still has been awesome. I have lived in Europe, and have been teaching International students English. I am on the road to fulfilling dreams, that I never thought possible up until this year. I am getting married in March, and I couldnt think of a better way to start the new year than with a new life with my beautiful soon-to-be spouse.

I think 2010 will be great. upon my return from Europe, there will hopefully be a perkins and nate, drive-across-America visiting all our long-lost friends, and favorite places. We will most likely finish our tour in Seattle, where we will reside for a period of 9 months or so, while perkins finishes grad school. I am stoked to be in my home country, and in the one city I have not been to in America that feels close to my heart.

This is the first decade turn that I can recall individual things that happened in each year. I feel like I am saying goodbye to those things, it is sad, as I have identified myself by a lot of those events. I think with a new life starting with perkins, I am finding new ways to identify myself. I am stoked for the best times, and the greatest things of this decade to come. I have always been one to look back more than ahead. But better things are in store. Its hard to imagine that things can be better when they seemed so perfect at times. But I am getting married in 2010, and seeing new places and doing new things, and continuing to learn music :).

~ by dabhandeddrifter on December 31, 2009.

2 Responses to “new years”

  1. sweet write. I often feel the same way about certain years, and more than I would like, of the past decade. Maybe we are somewhat lost souls, unable to enjoy every moment of our post-high school lives. Or maybe we are finally able to realize that life is a lot harder outside the bubble our parents built us. Either way, it is important to enjoy as many of the good moments in the sometimes perennial bad seasons of our lives and always stay optimistic that the future will be much less tough. I do admire your optimism too and I am quite confident it is well founded!

    • thanks fenrick. yeah life is definitely more difficult than I would have imagined since high school. I like that we can identify so well with this.
      It can be tough to be optimistic when you realize some things will never be the same, still awesome, just not the same. In an act to appreciate moments I could not recall from 2000-2010, I took some time to peruse my music collection from this past decade, and listened to select songs off my favorite albums, that pertained to my life in different seasons, this did bring up lots of memories. And made me realize there will be will be more of this in this decade. There will be new favorite albums, there will be new seasons. As long as there is new music that is constantly playing, I will have a way to document that. It’s really strange how new years bring changing seasons. last year I came to ROmania. last year, you went to Japan. this is changing for both of us this year, and its exciting to go back home (at least I know this is what I am doing) and start again. hopefully te hype wont be in vain.

Leave a comment